How to Mark Prior Read or Delete Prior using PRIV

How-To

For times when you need to perform bulk email management on your device, here are two things you’ll want to know.

The first is the Mark Prior Read option which will mark multiple items as read, the second is Delete Prior which will remove a group of messages.

Did you know that PRIV comes with 12 months of free, complimentary support?
Call 1-866-533-8067 (Canada\USA), or 0800-141-3330 (UK)!

Before we begin, you should know that these options can be used when viewing a specific account only. For example, if I have five email accounts set up on my device, I can switch to a specific account which will prevent the Mark Prior Read, or Delete Prior options from affecting my other email accounts, or social media accounts. To view a specific account, tap priv_3dotvertical followed by tapping on the specific account you would like to manage.

Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, follow the steps below to use either of these options.

  1. While viewing the Hub, tap and hold on a date banner
  2. Tap priv_3dotvertical in the top right corner and select one of the following:
    • Mark Prior Read
    • Delete Prior (This option will not delete messages from the server, the messages are removed from the device only regardless of your Hub Delete On setting)
  3. Tap Continue when the confirmation dialog appears

Got a question? Leave a comment and let me know!

To learn about PRIV by BlackBerry or troubleshoot an issue, there are several great options available to help. Visit http://blackberry.com/support for access to product documentation, how-to demos, tips and tricks, YouTube videos, support forums, knowledge base articles, Twitter support, and contact information for your region.

About Ty Williams

Community Content Manager & Blogger @ BlackBerry. Connect with me on Twitter @TyWilliamsCA

Join the conversation

Show comments Hide comments
+ -
blog comments powered by Disqus