How to merge contacts using BlackBerry 10

How-To

Did you know that BlackBerry 10 will automatically merge contacts when it’s clear that the contacts are the same person? For example, if two or more contacts share the same first and last names, mobile phone or BlackBerry ID, they will be automatically merged together.

This feature makes managing your contact list really easy since it will automatically merge contacts from your email accounts with Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn contact list.

Depending on how you organize your contacts, some may not get merged automatically. In the event this occurs, complete the steps below to manually merge contacts so your contact list is just the way you like. I’ve also included steps on how you can turn off the automatic merging feature if you prefer to merge all of your contacts manually🙂

How to link contacts together manually

  1. Open the Contacts app
  2. Touch and hold a contact
  3. From the context menu, tap Select More
  4. Tap the contacts that you want to merge
  5. From the context menu, tap Link Contacts

1031-ContactLink

Stop automatically merging of contacts

As mentioned previously, you can turn off the ability for your device to merge contacts automatically using the steps below:

  1. Open the Contacts app
  2. Swipe down from the top of the screen
  3. Tap Settings
  4. Turn off Automatically Merge Contacts

Got a question? Leave a comment and let me know!

About Ty Williams

Community Content Manager & Blogger @ BlackBerry. Connect with me on Twitter @TyWilliamsCA

Join the conversation

Show comments Hide comments
+ -
blog comments powered by Disqus