Five Tip Friday – BlackBerry 10.2.1 Hub Tips

Five Tip Friday

It’s been a while but today marks the return of Five Tip Friday! To kick things off, here are five must know tips that can help increase your productivity when you are in the BlackBerry Hub.

Make sure you leave a comment and let me know if you are looking for tips in specific areas as well🙂

Single messages or conversations? You decide!

FTF-1021-Hub-ConvoEvery time I set up a new device or offer tips to a friend this item is one of the first I mention because I find it helps to see the entire conversation and avoid missing a response sent earlier.

  1. In the BlackBerry hub, tap FTF1021-Hub-3Dot > FTF1021-Hub-Gear Settings > Display and Actions
  2. In the Display Style drop-down list, tap Conversation

Jump to the next or previous message

Make sure you try this gesture because it can save you a lot of taps back and forth whenever you are sorting through messages.

  1. Slowly slide your finger from the left edge of the message to the right to peek at your list of messages
  2. While holding the message open, slide your finger up or down to highlight the next or previous message in the list
  3. To open the highlighted message, release your finger

Adjust your account’s Sync Timeframe

For some types of email accounts, the default timeframe that your BlackBerry device initially syncs email is 30 days in the past.

  1. To change this setting, on the home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen
  2. Tap FTF1021-Hub-Gear Settings > Accounts
  3. Tap the email account
  4. In the Sync Timeframe drop-down list, tap an option, and then tap Save

Delete messages on your device, device, and server—or get a prompt

A popular BlackBerry OS feature was added in BlackBerry OS version 10.2 so make sure you take advantage of it! Simply put, you can control whether or not messages are deleted only on your device, your device and mail server, or get a prompt each time on where you’d like to delete the message. This makes reconciling your mailbox really easy if you use multiple email clients\devices!

  1. While viewing the BlackBerry Hub, tap FTF1021-Hub-3Dot in the lower-right corner
  2. Tap FTF1021-Hub-Gear Settings, and then tap Display and Actions
  3. Tap Delete On, and then select your desired option
    • Handheld Only
    • Handheld and Server
    • Prompt
  4. Tap Back to save your changes

Rearrange the order of accounts in the BlackBerry Hub

You can change the order in which the BlackBerry Hub displays the accounts in the Account tab. For example, you can move your favorite accounts or the accounts that you use most frequently to the top of the list.

  1. In the BlackBerry Hub, tap FTF1021-Hub-3Dot > FTF1021-Hub-Gear > Hub Management
  2. Tap FTF1021-Hub-Rearrange
  3. Touch and hold an account, then slide your finger up or down to change where the account appears in the list of accounts in the Account tab
  4. Tap the FTF1021-Hub-SaveCheck icon to save your changes

About Ty Williams

Community Content Manager & Blogger @ BlackBerry. Connect with me on Twitter @TyWilliamsCA

Join the conversation

Show comments Hide comments
+ -
blog comments powered by Disqus